Picture
Monopoly is a board game that teaches you how to be rich by trading money, property, houses and hotels. From playing this game, I learn about the subject of math, taxes, bank, money property, rent and mortgage. 


I like this game because you can buy houses and hotels and when you land on Chance you have the opportunity to make more money. 

I don't like it when I land on the Go to Jail because you have to pay $50 just to get out. 

I can use the knowledge as a citizen of the Philippines when I grow older. I now know that I can use the bank's money to buy or mortgage properties to become richer. But I have to be careful because the game also taught me that I can go bankrupt! I have almost gone bankrupt from buying too many properties at once. I'm so glad it is just play money and not real life. 


It also taught me to compute 10% interest on mortgage payments. The picture on the left shows me computing this on paper. Taxes are also part of life that you cannot and must not avoid which I also learnt from reading my text book One Country, One People.



It is possible to play Monopoly in real life, but slower. In Monopoly you make money from getting rent payments. In real life you can do that too and I want to use my family as an example now that I understand better. My parents rent out a 1 bedroom apartment, a service utility car, and services like consulting, writing online, digital design and printing. 


When I grow up I too want to play Monopoly in real life by creating art studios for rent.







Leave a Reply.

    My name is Colin. I created this blog to show what I do for homeschool activities and projects throughout the year. I started this blog in 2013 the 4th quarter of my third grade.